Skip to ContentSkip to Subscribe Widget
Two children smiling at each other, one holding a real bunny and the other holding a book.Two children smiling at each other, one holding a real bunny and the other holding a book.

Frequently Asked Questions


Do Annie's products contain peanuts or tree nuts?

We always list peanuts and tree nuts in the ingredient statement on the package when a product contains peanuts or tree nuts.

Allergy Information

We recognize the needs of consumers who have allergies or sensitivities to nuts, gluten, certain spices, etc., which is why we fully disclose all ingredients on the ingredient statement on our packaging. Our packaging is the most accurate and up-to-date source for allergen and ingredient information. At Annie’s, we take every precaution to ensure that cross contamination of ingredients does not occur at any point in the process, including the farm where we source our ingredients, transportation and shipping, and production and packaging. Our manufacturing facilities have the highest standards of cleanliness and have documented and verified allergen handling policies. During production, we run our products in a particular order to reduce the risk of cross contamination, take the equipment apart and thoroughly clean it in between runs of product. We routinely test for the effectiveness of our allergen procedures.

Annie’s products are labeled for the following top eight allergens: peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, soy, wheat, crustaceans, and fish. In addition, we also label for sesame. We label for these allergens using ‘CONTAINS’ and/or ‘MAY CONTAIN’ lists located directly below the product’s ingredient list. Ingredients may vary from one package to another due to product reformulation.

Which of your products are wheat-free or gluten-free?

We offer a wide variety of gluten-free products. Please visit our Special Diets page to filter by your dietary preference.

Are any of Annie's products vegan?

We offer several vegan options. Please visit our Special Diets page to filter by your dietary preference.


Expiration dates

All of our products have a day/month/year format date. Example: 24OCT2021 = October 24, 2021
If your salad dressing or condiment is open and has been stored in the refrigerator, it is good until the Best If Used By date.

What's the difference between Certified Organic and "Made with Organic" Annie's products?

We are committed to supporting organic farming, which has positive impacts on soil health, biodiversity, water quality, animal welfare and more. Organic farming minimizes synthetic pesticides and fertilizers, while also using regenerative farming practices like crop rotations, cover cropping, biological pest control, and more.

Annie’s has both Certified Organic and Made with Organic products. Certified Organic products display the green and white USDA Organic seal and contain at least 95% organic ingredients, which were grown and processed according to strict rules set and enforced by the United States Department of Agriculture. The remaining 5% of ingredients do not have to be certified organic, but still need to meet a list of criteria to be permitted in Certified Organic foods.

Made with Organic products contain at least 70% organic ingredients. In our “Made with Organic Pasta” mac and cheese, for example, this means that the wheat is certified organic while the cheese is from non-organic farms. As we grow the amount of Certified Organic products in our portfolio, we’re also mindful of providing options to consumers who are not able or willing to pay premium prices for our Certified Organic products. Whenever possible, we provide both options to allow consumers to make the choice through clear labeling on our packaging.

Does Annie's use artificial flavor or colors?

Our products contain no artificial flavors or synthetic colors

How does Annie's make colored products - like orange mac & cheese or pink fruit snacks?

Annie’s uses colors that come from plants, like purple carrots, beets, and annatto—the seed of a tree that grows in South America.

Peanut Free Facility Product

Is there a taste difference between this product and the old Annie’s Dipped Chewy Bars?

No. These products are the same Annie’s Dipped Chewy bars you have come to love.

What Annie’s bars products are made in a peanut free facility?

All of the Annie’s Dipped bars (Chocolate and Caramel) and Annie’s Chocolate Chip Drizzle Bars are made in a peanut free facility. Please refer to the packaging carefully.

Are all sizes and UPCs of these bars made in a peanut free facility?

All of the Annie’s Dipped bars are made in a peanut free facility but not all Annie’s bars are made in a peanut free facility. Please refer to the packaging carefully. Look for a package marked with a teal box with the words “Made In A Peanut Free Facility” inside and the Made In a Peanut Free Facility logo.

What does it mean to be made in a peanut free facility?

Peanuts in any form, are not allowed in the facility. Because of this none of the manufacturing equipment ever comes in contact with peanuts, and none of the products manufactured in the facility contain peanuts.

What does it mean that Annie’s Dipped Bars have 35% less sugar?

Annie’s Dipped Bars have 7 grams of sugar per 26 gram bar where as the leading brand’s Dipped Granola Bars have 13 grams of sugar per 31 gram bar.

What allergens are in the Annie’s Dipped Bars?

Allergens may vary by flavor, please refer to Annie’s Dipped Bar Packaging for most up to date information.

My child’s school requires peanut-free snacks. Is this safe to bring to school?

We know school requirements and policies vary so we recommend asking your child’s school directly for specific requirements. Please ask your school for specific requirements.

Is the box recyclable? What about the individual film wrappers?

The box is recyclable but the individual film wrappers are not.